Important Dates


?/?/1935 - The establishment of Die Middellandse Regiment in Graaff Reinett, later renamed Regiment Groot Karoo and converted to Infantry


?/?/1939 - The establishment of the Pretoria Highlanders (PH). During World War II the regiment, as part of 7 South African Infantry Brigade, took part in "Operation Rose", the invasion of Madagascar by South African forces in June 1942. As far as is known, this is the first (and only) amphibious operation in which South African troops ever participated. Amalgamated with Pretoria Regiment


31 January 1940 - The formation of No 1 Armoured Car Company was authorised and the Black Beret was adopted as the headdress


21 February 1917 - The sinking of the SS Mendi


27 February 1881 - the Battle of Majuba


23 March 1854 - The establishment of the Royal D'urban Rangers


23 March 1988 - The Battle of Cuito Cuanavale


1888 - The establishment of the Natal Mounted Rifles (NMR) - amalgamation of the Royal D'urban Rangers, the Victoria Mounted Rifles, the Durban Mounted Rifles and other smaller units


30 March 2001 - Opening of Lesakeng at the SA Armour Museum by Hon Col Frik Jankowitz


01 April 1934 - The establishment of Regiment President Steyn as an Infantry Regiment, later converted to a Machine Gun  Battalion.


01 April 1962 - The establishment of 2 Armoured Car Regiment (with D Squadron at Walvis Bay). In 1967, 2 Armoured Car Regiment merged with 1 SSB


01 April 1966 - The establishment of the School of Armour


01 April 1999 - The establishment of the SA Army Armour Formation


01 April 1999 - The establishment of 1 SA Tank Regiment


10 April 1954 - The establishment of Regiment Mooirivier (RMR) as 2 Antitank Regiment SAA/ACF. In 1954 the regiment was converted to an Armoured Car regiment and renamed Regiment Hendrik Potgieter. In 1959 the regiment was renamed Regiment Mooirivier


20 - 24 April 1944 - The 6th SA Armoured Division enters Italy at the port of Taranto (including Armour Regiments such as Natal Mounted Rifles, Pretoria Regiment, Prince Alfred's Guard and 1 Special Service Battalion. The Imperial Light Horse, later the Light Horse Regiment took part as an Infantry Battalion)


30 April 1993 - The establishment of the SA Armour Association


01 May 1933 - The establishment of 1 Special Service Battalion (1 SSB)


May 1940 - The establishment of the SA Tank Corps


26 May 1978 - The Ratel in the Sea, Walvis Bay


10 June 1942 - The Battle of Celeno


22 June 1941 - The start of Operation Barbarossa


01 July 1913 - The establishment of Pretoria Regiment (PR) as the XIIth Infantry Battalion.


01 July 1952 - The establishment of Regiment Oranjerivier (ROR) as Regiment North West Cape in Upington. Later the name was changed to Regiment Hertzog and in 1960 to Regiment Oranjerivier


2 July 1942 - The First Battle of El ’Alamein


14 to 20 July 1916 - The Battle of Delville Wood


30 July 1900 - Surrender of the Boer Forces under Gen Prinsloo at Surrender Hill


August 1932 - Operation Ipumbu


01 September 1953 - The establishment of 1 SSB Training Regiment


02 September 1999 - The opening of Hull Down at the SA Armour Museum by Brig Gen Fido Smit, Hon Col of 1 SSB


06 September - Warsaw Flights


13 September 1996 - The inauguration of the SA Armour Museum by the Chief of the Army, Lt Gen Reg Otto


18 and 19 September 1918 - The Battle of Square Hill


19 September 1856 - The establishment of Prince Alfred's Guard (PAG). Recently converted to an Infantry regiment


21 September 1899 - The establishment of the Imperial Light Horse (ILH), later the Light Horse Regiment (LHR)


01 October 1962 - The establishment of C Squadron, 2 Armoured Car Regiment at Zeerust as a military base


01 October 1973 - The establishment of 2 Special Service Battalion


18 October 1946 - The establishment of the SA Armoured Corps (SAAC) as a unit of the Permanent Force. Government Gazette No 3716 dated 18 October 1946.


23 October 1942 - The Second Battle of El Alamein


01 November 1942 - The first steps taken to constitute the SA Armoured Corps as a unit of the Active Citizen Force


11 November 1918 - At approximately 05:00 on Monday 11 November 1918, the Armistice was signed in a railway carriage of Marshall Foch’s special train located in the forest at Rethondes in France on the western front. At 11:00 on this Monday 11 November 1918, the roar of guns ceased and peace and silence finally de-scended on the western front, ending the First World War. It is estimated that close to 9,5 million soldiers, sailors and airmen of all sides died in the Great War.


December 1992 - The amalgamation of 2 Special Service Battalion and 1 Special Service Battalion